A Natural Minor Scale

The A natural minor scale, also known simply as the A minor scale, is one of the most commonly used scales in Western music. It consists of seven distinct notes, and it is characterized by a specific pattern of whole and half steps. The scale follows this sequence: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, A. The interval pattern for the natural minor scale is:

  • Whole step between A and B
  • Half step between B and C
  • Whole step between C and D
  • Whole step between D and E
  • Half step between E and F
  • Whole step between F and G
  • Whole step between G and A

This pattern can be summarized as: Whole, Half, Whole, Whole, Half, Whole, Whole.

In musical notation, the A natural minor scale looks like this:

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - A

The A natural minor scale is the relative minor of the C major scale, which means it contains the same notes as the C major scale but starts on A instead of C. Because of this relationship, the A natural minor scale is often described as having a more somber or melancholic tone compared to its relative major counterpart.